Add Listing Sign In

Quest for the NSMQ 2022 Trophy – The Finalists’ Trail


The onward march toward the coveted finals of the 2022 edition of the National Science & Maths Quiz started with 485 senior high schools competing at the regional level, out of which 117 schools progressed to the Preliminary Stage of the National Championship – this comprised 108 winners and nine top runners-up from the Regional Qualifiers.

The Nine Contestants of the 2022 Grand Finale

These schools fought passionately for spots at the One-eighth Stage  of the competition, where they were joined by the 27 seeded schools. In fierce contests typified by a mixture of pleasant memories and heartbreaks, many were left behind. Yet, Prempeh College, Presbyterian Boys’ Secondary School and Adisadel College – marched on, win after win, to make it to the grand finale.

All three finalists have fought a good fight, nonetheless, only one will be crowned champion of the 2022 edition of the National Science & Maths Quiz.

Nsiah, Austin and Tenkorang of PRESEC – Legon

PRESEC – Legon vie for their Seventh Trophy

Following three successive NSMQ final appearances, the six-time champions, Presbyterian Boys’ Secondary School entered the contest at the One-eighth Stage, as a finalist from the 2021 edition and as Greater Accra Regional Champions. With a slow start at the One-eighth Stage, they faced Asanteman SHS and Shama SHS, where they progressed into the Quarter-finals having resisted a good fight from Asanteman SHS. The “Christian Gentlemen” did their homework and came back stronger with a masterful performance in a thrilling contest against Accra Academy and Pope John Seminary & SHS in the Quarterfinals.

Their commanding Semi-final presence sent chills down the spine of all other competitors.  At the Semi-Final Stage, they successfully warded off very stiff competition from St. James Seminary SHS to book their fourth successive place at the Finals of NSMQ 2022, a feat only themselves and Adisadel College can boast of.

Lionel, Yaw and Yunus of Prempeh College

Prempeh College eye back-to-back Titles

Prempeh College’s first defence of their 2021 trophy started at the One-Eighth stage when the “Seniors” faced a determined St. Thomas Aquinas SHS, who came into the One-eighth Stage with the highest score in the competition so far (85pts). However, that did not scare the five-time champions who were on a mission to equal two records held by Presec Legon; a sixth championship title, and successful title defence. At the Quarter-finals, many anticipated a good fight from Mawuli School. All the same, it was Aburi Presby SHTS who gave the Champions a hard time, yet, the resilient Amanfuor sailed through to the Semi-finals.

They entered the Semi-final Stage to meet yet another Presby school in a thrilling contest involving Presby SHS, Abetifi and two-time champions, Mfantsipim School. In this close contest, it was Presby SHS, Abetifi, that gave Prempeh College an unyielding contest but that could not stop the Champions either. In their final quest to keep the trophy they won in 2021, the reigning champions meet yet another Presby school, the Presbyterian Boys’ Secondary School, Legon and Adisadel College in the Finals. Would they be able to repel the heat that the Christian Gentlemen from Presec and the Santaclausians from Adisco would bring into the final?

Paa Kwesi, Abdul-Wadud and Prince of Adisadel College

Adisadel College seek second NSMQ Trophy

Adisadel College, the 2016 Champions, commenced their journey to the NSMQ 2022 Finals at the One-eighth Stage as one of the 27 seeded schools, having reached the Quarterfinals in 2021. Focused on a possible second National Championship title, Adisadel College could not be stopped by Koforidua Secondary Technical School and Acherensua SHS. “The Zebra boys” grazed their way into the Semi-finals after an impressive performance over Assin State College and Swedru SHS in the Quarter-finals. The Semi-finals came with a greater challenge posed by Opoku Ware School and St. Augustine’s College. Nonetheless, the Santaclausians demonstrated why they, until this past weekend, held the impressive record of four successive Final appearances, with an electrifying performance over their counterparts. What a resounding victory that was! Adisadel College, having been driven by passion and exemplary academic prowess into the Finals, it is assumed that no one can stop them now.

The battle line is drawn, who wins the NSMQ 2022 trophy?

The Closing Ceremony starts at 2 pm and the Final Contest is at 3:30 pm. You can watch via our Facebook, Twitter and Youtube pages.

Prev Post
NSMQ2022 : PRESEC claim 7th Trophy in resilient win against PREMPEH and ADISCO
Next Post
NSMQ2022: The “Ahoteefoɔ” make the Bono Region Proud, book a semifinal spot

Add Comment

Your email is safe with us.


Your cart